October 22, 2019

State Program Contacts

One of the primary components of the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program are State Earthquake Program Managers.  This group is made up of (usually) State Emergency Management Agency representatives who actively plan and prepare to reduce earthquake related losses in their states.  In many states, there is a dedicated Earthquake Program Manager, in others it is a shared responsibility.  Collectively, the group is known as the “National Earthquake Program Managers”, and they hold annual meetings to develop programs, best practices, and foster relationships.  The NEPM group began these annual meetings in the early 1990?s, and after a brief hiatus, resumed meeting in 2004 at the National Earthquake Conference in St. Louis, Missouri.  Since 2004, the NEPM’s have met regularly to continue to build resiliency against this no-notice, high consequence hazard.

A list of State Earthquake Program Managers is as follows1 & 2:

State Earthquake Program Manager Phone / Email
Alabama La’Tonya Stephens (205) 280-2200
LaTonya.Stephens@ema.alabama.gov
Alaska Daniel Belanger (907) 428-7034
dan.belanger@alaska.gov
American Samoa Mulivanu Aiumu (684) 699-0414
m.aiumu@asdhs.as.gov
Arizona Michael Conway (520) 209-4146
fmconway@email.arizona.edu
Arkansas Hilda Booth (501) 683-6700
eq@adem.arkansas.gov
British Columbia Robert White (604) 660-2421
robert.white@gov.bc.ca
California Ryan Arba (916) 845-8132
ryan.arba@caloes.ca.gov
Colorado Karen Berry (303) 384-2640
kaberry@mines.edu
Connecticut Ian Alexander (860) 529-6893
ian.alexander@ct.gov
Delaware Stephanie Baxter (302) 831-1576
steff@udel.edu
Florida Miles Anderson (850) 413-9816
miles.anderson@em.myflorida.com
Georgia Ginger Martin (404) 635-7202
ginger.martin@gema.ga.gov
Guam Leo Rustum Espia (Acting) (671) 478-0296
leo.espia@ghs.guam.gov
Hawaii Kevin Richards (808) 733-4301
kevin.j.richards@hawaii.gov
Idaho Susan Cleverley (208) 422-5726
scleverley@imd.idaho.gov
Illinois Darryl Dragoo (217) 782-2700
darryl.dragoo@illinois.gov
Indiana Allison Curry (317) 232-3980
acurry@dhs.IN.gov
Iowa David Johnston (515) 725-3295
david.johnston@iowa.gov
Kansas AJ Wolfe (785) 274-1409
andrew.j.wolfe2.nfg@mail.mil
Kentucky Steve Brukwicki (502) 607-5759
steven.e.brukwicki.nfg@mail.mil
Louisiana David Schultz (225) 925-7500
david.schultz@la.gov
Maine Anne P. Fuchs (207) 624-4400
Anne.P.Fuchs@maine.gov
Maryland Chas Eby (410) 517-3600
chas.eby@maryland.gov
Massachusetts Sarah White (508) 820-2008
sarah.white@state.ma.us
Michigan Matt Sobocinski (517) 336-2053
sobocinskim@michigan.gov
Minnesota Jenny Kane (651) 201-7491
jenny.kane@state.mn.us
Mississippi Patrick Besselievre (601) 933-6362
pbesselievre@mema.ms.gov
Missouri Jeff Briggs (573) 526-9232
jeff.briggs@sema.dps.mo.gov
Montana Andrew Long (406) 324-4777
andrew.long@mt.gov
Nebraska Molly Bargmann (402) 471-7421
molly.bargmann@nebraska.gov
Nevada Janell Woodward (775) 687-0314
jwoodward@dps.state.nv.us
New Hampshire Nick Bibeau (603) 271-2231
nicholas.bibeau@dos.nh.gov
New Jersey Christopher Tetsa (609) 963-6963
lpptestc@gw.njsp.org
New Mexico Wendy Blackwell (505) 476-9676
wendy.blackwell@state.nm.us
New York Dan O’Brien (518) 292-2468
dobrien@dhses.ny.gov
North Carolina Kevin Kalbaugh (919) 825-2500
kevin.kalbaugh@ncdps.gov
North Dakota Paul Messner (701) 328-8259
pmessner@nd.gov
Northern Mariana Islands Brien Ser Nicholas (670) 237-8000
bnicholas@cnmihsem.gov.mp
Ohio Heather Byers (614) 889-7150
hnbyers@dps.ohio.gov
Oklahoma Bonnie McKelvey (405) 521-2481
bonnie.mckelvey@oem.ok.gov
Oregon Althea Rizzo (503) 378-2911
althea.rizzo@state.or.us
Pennsylvania Tom Hughes (717) 651-2726
thughes@state.pa.us
Puerto Rico Taviana Nevares (787) 724-0124
tnevares@oasp.pr.gov
Rhode Island Samantha Richer (401) 462-7048
samantha.richer@ema.ri.gov
South Carolina Rachel McCaster (803) 737-8500
rmccaster@emd.sc.gov
South Dakota Jim Poppen (605) 773-3231
jim.poppen@state.sd.us
Tennessee Cecil Whaley (615) 741-0640
cwhaley@tnema.org
Texas David Jackson (512) 424-7844
David Jackson@dps.texas.gov
Utah Bob Carey (801) 538-3784
bcarey@utah.gov
Vermont Marjorie Gale (802) 522-5210
marjorie.gale@vermont.gov
Virgin Islands Denise Lewis (340) 773-2244
denise.lewis@vitema.vi.gov
Virginia Robert Coates (804) 897-6500
robert.coates@vdem.virginia.gov
Washington Maximilian Dixon (253) 512-7000
Maximilian.Dixon@mil.wa.gov
Washington, D.C. Donte Lucas
(202) 767-6161
donte.lucas@dc.gov
West Virginia Tim Keaton (304) 957-2572
tim.w.keaton@wv.gov
Wisconsin Katie Sommers (608) 242-3222
katie.sommers@wisconsin.gov
Wyoming Melinda Gibson (307) 777-4914
melinda.gibson@wyo.gov

1This list is updated regularly on a best effort basis.  If you know of any corrections, please email info@eqprogram.net

2 Updated 08/30/2019