September 21, 2017

State Program Contacts

One of the primary components of the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program are State Earthquake Program Managers.  This group is made up of (usually) State Emergency Management Agency representatives who actively plan and prepare to reduce earthquake related losses in their states.  In many states, there is a dedicated Earthquake Program Manager, in others it is a shared responsibility.  Collectively, the group is known as the “National Earthquake Program Managers”, and they hold annual meetings to develop programs, best practices, and foster relationships.  The NEPM group began these annual meetings in the early 1990?s, and after a brief hiatus, resumed meeting in 2004 at the National Earthquake Conference in St. Louis, Missouri.  Since 2004, the NEPM’s have met regularly to continue to build resiliency against this no-notice, high consequence hazard.

A list of State Earthquake Program Managers is as follows1 & 2:

State Earthquake Program Manager Phone / Email
Alabama Marieke Fendley (205) 280-2283
marieke.fendley@ema.alabama.gov
Alaska Daniel Belanger (907) 428-7034
dan.belanger@alaska.gov
American Samoa Jacinta Brown
or
Lealofisa Moliga
(684) 633-2827
j.brown@asdhs.as.gov
or
l.moliga@ashdhs.as.gov
Arizona Michael Conway (520) 209-4146
fmconway@email.arizona.edu
Arkansas Hilda Booth (501) 683-6700
eq@adem.arkansas.gov
British Columbia Robert White (604) 660-2421
robert.white@gov.bc.ca
California Ryan Arba
or
Kate Long
(916) 845-8132
ryan.arba@caloes.ca.gov(626) 356-3212
kate.long@calema.ca.gov
Colorado Scott Baldwin (720) 852-6608
scott.baldwin@state.co.us
Connecticut Anthony Dembek (860) 256-0824
anthony.dembek@ct.gov
Delaware Stephanie Baxter (302) 831-1576
steff@udel.edu
Florida Miles Anderson (850) 413-9816
miles.anderson@em.myflorida.com
Georgia Laura Gustavson (404) 624-2636
laura.gustavson@gema.ga.gov
Guam Leo Rustum Espia (Acting) (671) 478-0296
leo.espia@ghs.guam.gov
Hawaii Kevin Richards (808) 733-4301
kevin.j.richards@hawaii.gov
Idaho Susan Cleverley (208) 422-5726
scleverley@imd.idaho.gov
Illinois Jason Williams (217) 785-9925
jason.b.williams@illinois.gov
Indiana Janice Lee (317) 605-7005
jalee@dhs.IN.gov
Iowa David Johnston (515) 725-3295
david.johnston@iowa.gov
Kansas AJ Wolfe (785) 274-1409
andrew.j.wolfe2.nfg@mail.mil
Kentucky Jeremy Blansett (502) 607-5158
jeremy.blansett.nfg@mail.mil
Louisiana Scott Van Keuren (225) 925-3633
Scott.VanKeuren@la.gov
Maine Thomas Redstone (207) 624-4400
thomas.redstone@maine.gov
Maryland Mark James (410) 517-3649
mark.james@maryland.gov
Massachusetts Sarah White (508) 820-2008
sarah.white@state.ma.us
Michigan Matt Sobocinski (517) 336-2053
sobocinskim@michigan.gov
Minnesota Jenny Kane (651) 201-7491
jenny.kane@state.mn.us
Mississippi Susan Hardy (601) 933-6349
shardy@mema.ms.gov
Missouri Jeff Briggs (573) 526-9232
jeff.briggs@sema.dps.mo.gov
Montana Marschal Rothe
(406) 324-4776
mrothe@mt.gov
Nebraska Mary Baker (402) 471-7185
mary.baker@nebraska.gov
Nevada Janell Woodward (775) 687-0306
jwoodward@dps.state.nv.us
New Hampshire Perry Plummer (603) 223-3637
perry.plummer@dos.nh.gov
New Jersey Christopher Tetsa (609) 963-6963
lpptestc@gw.njsp.org
New Mexico Wendy Blackwell (505) 476-9676
wendy.blackwell@state.nm.us
New York Dan O’Brien (518) 292-2468
dobrien@dhses.ny.gov
North Carolina Chris Crew (919) 733-3867
jcrew@ncem.org
North Dakota Paul Messner (701) 328-8259
pmessner@nd.gov
Northern Mariana Islands Gerald Guerrero (670) 287-7158
gerald.guerrero@cnmihsem.gov.mp
Ohio Julie Frimm jrfrimm@dps.ohio.gov
(614) 889-7150
Oklahoma Bonnie McKelvey (405) 521-2481
bonnie.mckelvey@oem.ok.gov
Oregon Althea Rizzo (503) 378-2911
althea.rizzo@state.or.us
Pennsylvania Tom Hughes (717) 651-2726
thughes@state.pa.us
Puerto Rico Jesus Poupart (787) 724-0124
jpoupart@prema.pr.gov
Rhode Island Jim Baker (401) 946-9996
james.baker@ema.ri.gov
South Carolina David Perry (803) 737-8500
dperry@emd.sc.gov
South Dakota Jim Poppen (605) 773-3231
jim.poppen@state.sd.us
Tennessee Cecil Whaley (615) 741-0640
cwhaley@tnema.org
Texas Patrick Kelley (512) 424-2208
raymond.mejia@dps.texas.gov
Utah Bob Carey (801) 538-3784
bcarey@utah.gov
Vermont Marjorie Gale (802) 522-5210
marjorie.gale@vermont.gov
Virgin Islands Allison Degazon (340) 715-6823
allison.degazon@vitema.vi.gov
Virginia Matthew Wall (804) 897-6500 x6541
matthew.wall@vdem.virginia.gov
Washington Maximilian Dixon (253) 512-7000
Maximilian.Dixon@mil.wa.gov
Washington, D.C. Donte Lucas
(202) 767-6161
donte.lucas@dc.gov
West Virginia Tim Keaton (304) 957-2572
tim.w.keaton@wv.gov
Wisconsin Roxanne Gray (608) 242-3211
roxanne.gray@wisconsin.gov
Wyoming Melinda Gibson (307) 777-4914
melinda.gibson@wyo.gov

1This list is updated regularly on a best effort basis.  If you know of any corrections, please email info@eqprogram.net

2 Updated August 25, 2017